While some drivers automatically qualify for the All-Star Race (past champions and race winners from 2009-10), a few notable drivers are on the outside looking in. The winner of the popular vote gets a ticket to the dance, while the losers will console themselves in the knowledge that most all-star games suck.

Several of the biggest names in racing (Carl Edwards, Juan Pablo Montoya, Clint Bowyer and Greg Biffle) have struggled in the early voting.

As of April 9th, the top 10 drivers in the Sprint All-Star Fan Vote standings are (listed in alphabetical order) A.J. Allmendinger, Marcos Ambrose, Biffle, Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Bill Elliott, Edwards, Montoya, Martin Truex Jr. and Michael Waltrip.  

Here is a look inside their failed All-Star voting campaigns of these drivers.

1. Carl Edwards Wants to Fake Punch You

Carl chose to campaign for the All-Star race on a platform of "fake punching" those who don’t vote for him. True to his word, Carl spent last weekend traversing the countryside, threatening to punch people who voted for Truex Jr.

2. Travis Kvapil Hands Out Free Falafels

Travis Kvapil run afoul of NASCAR officials by offering free falafels to anyone who voteed for him. Who can blame Travis?  There are only so many foods that rhyme with with ‘Kvapil’ (and even fewer foods that are also a tasty Greek treats).

3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. Relieved

Earnhardt Jr.’s All-Star win in May of 2000 automatically qualifies him for this year’s All-Star race. Little E doesn’t need to campaign, but he did release this poster to express his relief. Dale Jr. will skirt into the All-Star race because past champions of the race have automatic bids (Dale Jr. won the all-star race ten years ago).

4. Greg Biffle Doesn’t Know What Went Wrong

How can someone running in second place overall not be invited to the All-Star race?  In baseball, chicks dig the long ball and in racing, people dig the race winners. While Biffle and his Roush-Fenway teammates have rebounded from a terrible 2009 season, he has yet to snag the checkered flag… and an invitation to the All-Star Race.

5. Sam Hornish Jr. Goes Negative

Last year’s All-Star race had plenty of fireworks: Hornish and Biffle tussled, while Ryan Newman, Jeff Gordon and Kyle Busch put together some great three-wide racing duels.  This year, Sam Hornish Jr. is bring out the fireworks with his anti-Biffle campaign.  Only time will tell if this strategy will pay off for him.


  1. FlyinRyan39 says:

    Post your comment here!