You know the drill. Entertainment purposes only. I like long walks on the beach. A nice wine with dinner makes me fuzzy inside.

The 2009 Sprint Cup season ends Sunday with the Ford 400, which gives you one final chance to feel good about your predicting skills and make up for all the times you bet on Scott Speed to win.

Here are some opportunities for discussion:

Rick Hendrick is more George Steinbrenner than Rodney Dangerfield

There is zero reason to believe Jimmie Johnson will chase a win this weekend. He’s not even one of the top 10 drivers in terms of average finish at Homestead. Yet people are putting money on Johnson to win, and he remains the race favorite. Jeff Gordon and Mark Martin haven’t won at Homestead and are second and third in the odds. Mind you, there’s no statistical reason to think any of those three will win. Rick Hendrick, meet George Steinbrenner.

Jack Roush finally might have reason to smile

Greg Biffle owns this track with three career wins. He’s 15/1. Carl Edwards has the highest average finish. He’s 15/1. Jamie McMurray and David Ragan… you can’t win them all.

Vegas has a different kind of line

There are 12 drivers who have odds of less than 20/1. There are 12 drivers who have odds of 100/1. In the middle, only nine guys. The line between “decent shot” and “Why are you even out there?” is substantial. I’d like “Competitive Balance” for $1,000, Alex.

Enjoy the odds, and the race, and the beer that comes with watching the race. Or pizza, or wings, or nachos.

Ford 400 Odds, courtesy of

Jimmie Johnson    5-1        
Mark Martin    6-1        
Jeff Gordon    8-1        
Tony Stewart    8-1        
Denny Hamlin    12-1        
Juan Pablo Montoya    12-1        
Kyle Busch    8-1        
Carl Edwards    15-1        
Greg Biffle    15-1        
Kurt Busch    12-1        
Kasey Kahne    15-1        
Ryan Newman    30-1        
Clint Bowyer    30-1        
Brian Vickers    25-1        
Kevin Harvick    25-1        
Matt Kenseth    18-1        
Dale Earnhardt Jr    30-1        
Joey Logano    60-1        
Jeff Burton    40-1        
Martin Truex Jr    50-1        
David Reutimann    60-1        
Jamie McMurray    100-1        
David Ragan    100-1        
Bobby Labonte    100-1        
Brad Keselowski    100-1        
Sam Hornish Jr    100-1        
Marcos Ambrose    100-1        
David Gilliland    100-1        
AJ Allmendinger    100-1        
Reed Sorenson    100-1        
Casey Mears    100-1        
Elliott Sadler    100-1        
Michael Waltrip    100-1